Auburn High School Named National Merit Scholar

ROCKFORD, Ill. (WIFR) – A high school student from Auburn was announced on Tuesday as one of the 2022 National Merit Scholarship recipients.

Puranjay Gupta is part of a second announcement of program winners and will receive the prestigious $2,500 award as well as a Merit Scholar.

Puranjay “Jay” Gupta is enrolled in Auburn High School’s Gifted Academy and plans to study medicine after graduating in June.(Rockford Public Schools District 205)

This series of winners are finalists from each state judged to have the strongest combination of achievement, skill, and potential for success in future study.

Auburn Elders Alexander Ferry and Puranjay Gupta were named finalists in February for the scholarship; they were announced as semi-finalists in September for the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship program. Both students attended Gifted Academy in Auburn.

Gupta plans to study medicine after graduating from Auburn in June.

Rockford Public Schools announced the victory in their Bulletin 205 VIBE Thursday.

2,500 Merit Scholar Program winners were chosen from more than 15,000 finalists. By the end of the year, nearly 7,500 academic champions will receive a total of $28 million in scholarships.

Copyright 2022 WIFR. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.