Listed graduates and honor students

Presidential scholars

US Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona recently announced the 58th class of US Presidential Scholars, recognizing 161 high school students for their academic, artistic, professional, and technical achievements.

Arkansas scholars include:

• Saahas Parise, Bentonville high school.

• Rachael Baltresa Thumma, Bentonville High School.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars annually selects scholars based on academic achievement, artistic and technical excellence, essays, academic evaluations and transcripts, and demonstrated commitment. towards community service and leadership.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2022 will be recognized for outstanding achievement this summer with an online recognition program.


Ole Miss

More than 3,300 students graduated from the University of Mississippi in May. Undergraduate and graduate applicants received degrees from the College of Liberal Arts, General Studies, and schools of accounting, applied science, business administration, education, engineering, journalism, and new media, law and pharmacy.

Among the local graduates were:

Kathryn Kelly, of Fayetteville, who majored in biological sciences and earned a Bachelor of Arts from the College of Liberal Arts.

Kiley Robison, of Fort Smith, who majored in forensic chemistry and earned a bachelor of science degree from the College of Liberal Arts.

Destiny Wilson, of Harrison, who majored in biological sciences and earned a bachelor of science degree from the College of Liberal Arts.

Ellie Black, from Clarksville, who majored in creative writing and earned an MFA from The Graduate School.

Amanda Arnold, of Bentonville, who majored in accounting and earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the Patterson School of Accountancy.

Allison Hackleman, of Fayetteville, who majored in geological engineering and earned a bachelor’s degree in geological engineering from the School of Engineering.

Alexander Sembrot, of Centerton, who majored in Mechanical Engineering and earned a BS in Mechanical Engineering from the School of Engineering.

May 2022 graduates were invited to cross the stage at the University of Mississippi’s 169th Commencement Exercises, which were hosted by colleges and schools May 4-8. The college-wide morning convocation took place on May 7 in the grove, with UM alumnus Bradford Cobb, a well-known music industry executive, delivering the keynote address. opening.

The University of Mississippi, affectionately known as Ole Miss, is the state’s flagship university located in Oxford, Mississippi.



Southern New Hampshire University congratulates the following students on being named to the 2022 Winter Dean’s List:

Mark Bier of Fort Smith; Erma Wise of Rogers; Carriann Sargent of Fayetteville; Claudia Davidson of Fort Smith; Amber Clines of Springdale; Melanie Fujibayashi of Greenwood; Bella Vista’s Mary Ritchie; Madisyn Lanoue-Sprouse of Fayetteville; Sierra Kennedy of Siloam Springs; Tiffany Stanley of Fayetteville; Ariel Bilodeau of Fort Smith; Michael Wilson of Fayetteville; and Laken Cantwell from Alpena.

Full-time undergraduate students who have achieved a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3,500 to 3,699 are named to the Dean’s List.

Located in Manchester, NH, Southern New Hampshire University is a private, not-for-profit institution with an 89-year history of educating traditional-aged students and working adults.



Local students graduating from Campbellsville University this month are:

Centerton’s Praveen Penchala; Pavan Thanuj Pelluru of Fayetteville; and Harrison’s Peng Brett Xiang.

Located in Campbellsville, Kentucky, Campbellsville University is a reputable Christian university with more than 12,000 students offering more than 100 degree programs, including doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s, associate’s, pre-professional and certification.


Omicron Delta Kappa

Elkins native Kaitlyn Mashburn was recently inducted into the Belmont University Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society. The Society welcomed 1,971 new initiates from 78 universities in April 2022.

Students initiated into the Society must be sophomores, juniors, seniors, or graduate/professional students in the top 35% of their class, demonstrate leadership experience in at least one of the five pillars, and join to the ideals of the ODK. Less than 5% of students on a campus are invited to join each year.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded in Lexington, Virginia on December 3, 1914.



The University of Nebraska-Lincoln conferred a record 3,612 degrees in debut drills May 13-14.

Among these graduates were:

Fayetteville: Joseph Jonathan Broadway, College of Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering with High Distinction.

Fort Smith: Carly Marie Jahn, College of Journalism and Mass Communication, Bachelor of Journalism.

Eureka Springs: Colton Anthony Reddoch, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, Bachelor of Arts.

The 3,523 graduates come from 58 countries; 45 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico; and more than 250 Nebraska communities.



The University of the Cumberlands has announced the students named to the Dean’s List for the 2022 spring semester, including Rachel Reyngoudt from Huntsville.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, students must be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours (a full course load), maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.50, and be in good academic standing.

Located in Williamsburg, Kentucky, Cumberlands University is one of the largest private universities in Kentucky.



Sara Green, a student at the University of Mississippi, Eureka Springs School of Pharmacy, recently received the traditional white crest in a ceremony on the campus of the Medical Center in Jackson.

The patch is earned by third-year professional students and signifies course completion and transition to serving patients and communities through clinical rotations during the final year of school. Green will now work as part of a medical team at various pharmacy sites across the state and region.


Bob Jones

Springdale resident Philomena Brechtefeld was among more than 600 students graduating from Bob Jones University on May 6.

Brechtefeld graduated Cum Laude with a BS in Criminal Justice.

In addition to the 514 students with bachelor’s degrees, 78 students earned master’s degrees and 56 students earned associate’s degrees. Two candidates obtained a doctorate.

Since its founding in 1927, BJU has conferred more than 51,905 degrees.

Located in Greenville, South Carolina, Bob Jones University offers an accredited liberal arts Christian education designed to “inspire a lifelong quest for learning, love, and leadership.”

Send school news to [email protected]

Comments are closed.