Over $60,000 in Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships available

Press release

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation offers more than $60,000 in scholarships to Ohio students from rural, suburban, and urban communities pursuing studies related in some way to agriculture.

Through 12 scholarship funds, approximately 50 scholarships will be awarded to deserving students. The deadline to apply online at ohiofarmbureau.org/foundation is February 28, and all applications require letters of recommendation, an essay, transcripts, and photos.

The Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in honor of Yvonne Lesicko, Vice President of Public Policy for the Ohio Farm Bureau, who passed away in 2020. The Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Scholarship Fund has was created to honor Yvonne and support the next generation of student leaders. . Income from this endowment provides a lifelong scholarship to students majoring in agricultural and environmental policy or agriculture-related fields, such as food production, scientific research, education/outreach , policy development, advocacy or leadership development for women.

In honor of the legacy of Dr. C. William Swank, who served as executive vice president of the Ohio Farm Bureau from 1968 to 1996, the Ohio Farm Bureau established the Bill and Helen Swank Scholarship Fund. Over her 40-year career, Swank has helped the Ohio Farm Bureau become the advocacy organization it is today, while keeping the economic and social well-being of families in mind. agricultural.

The Richard & Carole Cocks Scholarship aims to recognize students who come from those areas that provide so much through agriculture. This year, the scholarship will award two scholarships of $3,333 to deserving students entering their sophomore year of college in select rural Ohio counties. Each scholarship is renewable for a maximum of three years and a total of $10,000 per student.

The Joseph Kelly Memorial Scholarship was established in 2018 to honor the life of Joseph Kelly and continue his legacy of generosity and service. The Joseph Kelly Memorial Scholarship is an annual merit-based competition to reward students pursuing agriculture-related studies.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Scholar Award recognizes students for their academic endeavors, community service, and professional interests that use agriculture to improve the partnership between producers and consumers in rural, suburban, and/or urban settings.

The foundation’s Women in Agriculture Leadership Scholarship Program is awarded to applicants who may not be majoring directly in agriculture, but whose chosen career field will benefit an agriculture-related field or to community development, such as food production, scientific research, education/outreach, marketing, policy development, advocacy or leadership development. The program was created by an endowment from the Charlotte R. Schmidlapp Fund, Fifth Third Bank, Trustee.

The fellowship’s namesake, John C. “Jack” Fisher, believes this saying from Ohio Farm Bureau First Executive Vice President Murray Lincoln: “People have in their hands the tools to shape their own destinies. ” Her vision for this scholarship is to empower people with the tools necessary for a more fulfilling life. Funding for this scholarship comes from contributions made through the Fisher Fund for Lifelong Learning.

Known as “Mr. Farm Bureau” to family and friends, Kenny Walter has dedicated 34 years of his life to the Ohio Farm Bureau. The Kenny Walter Scholarship Fund is awarded to students pursuing post-secondary education in agriculture who come from a Farm Bureau family in the 29 northeast counties covered by Watler as regional supervisor and organizational manager.

The Darwin Bryan Scholarship Fund was established in 1985 in honor of Darwin R. Bryan whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to the Ohio Farm Bureau was an inspiration to rural youth in Ohio. The scholarship fund assists students who have been active in the Farm Bureau Youth Program and/or whose parents are Farm Bureau members.

The Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship Fund was established in 2011 to honor Cynthia Anne (Cindy) Hollingshead for her 39 years of service as executive secretary of the Ohio Farm Bureau, as well as a lifetime of volunteer commitment in local government and community service activities. The goal of the scholarship fund is to help students who plan to pursue careers focused on agriculture, community service, or association leadership.

The Ohio Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Association is a non-profit trade association representing 2,500 Thoroughbred owners and trainers who race at Ohio’s three commercial Thoroughbred race tracks. The purpose of the Ohio Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protective Association Scholarship is to assist students who plan to pursue a career focused on food or agriculture.

The Dr. David A. Benfield Scholarship Fund was established in 2019 by colleagues and friends of Benfield to honor his 17-year career as Associate Director of OARDC and Associate Vice President and Campus Director Wooster from the College of Food, Agriculture and the Environment. Sciences and his passion for agricultural education and research. The scholarship is specifically for Livestock and Crop Science students at ATI. The purpose of this scholarship fund is to provide $1,000 to students entering their sophomore year at Ohio State ATI who are enrolled in animal husbandry and crop-related majors.

Also, some county agricultural offices have their own scholarship programs. Visit ohiofarmbureau.org/counties to access county websites for more information.

For more information about the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation, contact Kelly Burns, executive director of the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation, at (614) 246-8275.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation is committed to inspiring and educating the next generation of farmers, ensuring the progress and prosperity of Ohio agriculture into the future. The foundation creates bridges allowing young people to discover the variety and viability of careers in agriculture. Through scholarships, programs, and grants, the foundation builds a growing workforce of farmers who are passionate and ready to grow Ohio’s farming communities.

Comments are closed.