Penn State Football hosts annual awards banquet


Dotson named team MVP

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pennsylvania. – The winners of the First All-Big Ten team Jahan Dotson and Jaquan Brisker recognized the winners of the State College Quarterback Club’s annual banquet in honor of the Penn State football team on Sunday afternoon.

Dotson was named the Nittany Lions’ MVP and MVP. Brisker won the title of Most Valuable Defensive Player. In addition to player rewards (see below), former defensive lineman Nittany Lion Jordan Hill received the alumni athlete award.

A complete list of all the winners of the Sunday banquet:

  • Lions’ Pride Award for Best Senior Player (greatest career contribution to Penn State Football)QB Sean clifford
  • Most Valuable Player – WR Jahan Dotson
  • Most Valuable Offensive Player – WR Jahan Dotson
  • Most Valuable Defensive Player – S Jaquan Brisker
  • Captain’s Award – QB Sean clifford, OL Itch walker, S Jaquan Brisker, DT PJ Mustipher, PACKAGE Jordan stout and S Jonathan sutherland
  • Ridge Riley Award (senior for “Sportsmanship, Scholarship, Leadership and Friendship”) – DT PJ Mustipher
  • Dick Maginnis Memorial (best offensive lineman) – OL Juice Scruggs
  • Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (Senior Citizen of Courage, Character and Social Responsibility) – DE / LB Jesse luketa and OL Eric wilson
  • Reid-Robinson Award (exceptional defensive line). Named after two of Penn State’s most acclaimed defensive linemen, Dave Robinson and Mike Reid – DE Arnold ebiketie
  • John Bruno Memorial Award (Outstanding Special Team Member) – P / K Jordan stout
  • Tim Shaw Thrive Award (awarded to the student-athlete who overcame adversity and was an inspiration to his teammates) – RB Noah Cain and of Nick tarburton
  • Iron Lion Award (strength and conditioning). Awarded to the player who demonstrates the cornerstone of Penn State Football’s strength and conditioning program – Intensity and Consistency – DE Arnold ebiketie
  • Outstanding Run-on Award (Run-on player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage) – S Sebastien costantini and WR Justin weller
  • Special prices of the Club des quarts – CB Tariq Castro-Fields, K Rafael Checa, KG Max Chizmar, WR Winston Eubanks, WR Henri fessler, DT Fred hansard, S Drew hartlaub, K Vlad hilling, PACKAGE Bradley king, OL will be Knutsson, OL Kaleb Konigus, OL Mike Miranda, WR Cam Sullivan-Brown, OL Anthony whigan and WR Ben wilson.
  • The Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award (senior with the highest cumulative GPA) – WR Justin weller
  • Highest academic average – LS Michael wright
  • Public Service Award – QB Sean clifford
  • Scout Team Special Teams Player of the Year – S Kaleb Brown
  • Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – S Jaden Seider, KG Dominique DeLuca, DL Jordan van den berg
  • Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year – QB Mason Stahl and TE Dan Vasey
  • Keystone Award (recognizes an individual considered the foundation of our program) – DE Jesse luketa and DT Derrick Tangelo

Penn State returns to the Outback Bowl for the fifth time and the first time since 2010 when the Nittany Lions (7-5) face SEC foe No. 21/22/24 Arkansas (8-4) at Raymond James Tampa Bay Stadium on Saturday, January 1 at noon (ET). The game will air on ESPN2.

This will be Penn State’s first meeting with the Razorbacks. The Nittany Lions are 24-23 all-time against current SEC Schools, having played 11 of the league’s 14 teams. The most recent meeting with an SEC team was a home win over Auburn, 28-20, on September 18 this season.

In defense, Penn State closed the regular season first in the Big Ten in the red zone (66.7; 4e nationally), second in defense (16.8; 7e), third for the efficiency of the passes (111.98; 8e) and fourth for the lowest explosive game percentage (9.81; 10e). The Nittany Lions had two All-Big Ten first-team caps for the fourth consecutive year on the defensive end of the ball. With defensive end Arnold EbiketieFirst-team honor, this is the fourth consecutive season that Penn State has had a first-team defensive end. Security Jaquan Brisker becomes the first defensive back to win first-team laurels since Amani Oruwariye in 2018.

Offensively, senior wide receiver Jahan Dotson won first-team All-Big Ten media honors and is currently one of the semi-finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. He is the only wide receiver who was a semi-finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. He’s the only Power Five receiver and one of two FBS receivers with at least 90 receptions, 1,180 yards and 12 touchdowns in their first 12 games of the season, joining Jerreth Sterns of Western Kentucky (127; 1,539; 12 ). Dotson is the first Big Ten player since Braylon Edwards (Michigan, 2004) to have at least 90 receptions, 1,180 yards and 12 touchdowns in their first 12 games of the season.

On special teams, senior bettor redshirt Jordan stout was named Big Ten Eddleman-Fields Bettor of the Year. Stout became the first Penn State player to win the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year award. Additionally, Stout is a finalist for the Ray Guy Award, recognizing the nation’s top punter.

Penn State’s 2021 football season is presented by PSECU.

Source link

Comments are closed.