Pop Warner’s scholar-athletes celebrated – the Garden Island

HANAPEPE – Pop Warner’s football isn’t just tackle football. The arena expands to include the achievements of the Incentive Teams and the outstanding academic achievements of individual Pop Warner participants.

Earlier in the year, the outstanding soccer game was demonstrated in the final game of the season, made difficult by the sinister COVID-19 cloud that threatened to play in the arenas of the stadium, resulting in the cancellation of the Harold Naumu Bowl .

Accomplishments in cheering were demonstrated at the No-Audience Regional Cheering Championships, where four of Kaua’i’s teams were granted eligibility to compete in the Warner National Cheering and Pop Dance Championships in Orlando, Fla. .

The winning teams included Pee Wee Division Level PW2 Medium, The Kapa’a Eagles, Junior Varsity Division Level PW3 Small, The Hanapepe Colts, Junior Pee Wee Division Level PW1 Small, The Kekaha Titans and Junior Varsity Division Level PW1 Small, the Titans of Kekaha.

“This year has been very difficult for every association and athlete due to the pandemic and COVID-19 restrictions,” said Patsy Rapozo, Kaua’i Pop Warner Football League board member. “But together, as a league and as a community, we have come together to make these student-athletes a successful season.”

The KPWFL hosted 15 All-American Scholars at a reception at Wong’s Restaurant and Bakery in Hanapepe earlier this month, where the fellows were announced and congratulated by Sherwin Kaleo Perez Jr., former All American Scholarship recipient.

By maintaining an average of 96.6 percent, the student-athlete is eligible to be nominated for national recognition.

Coach Dick Ueoka, one of the founders of Pop Warner football on Kaua’i, has joined the squad to present Nia Pablo with the 2020 Dick Ueoka Award of Excellence.

This year’s All-American Scholars are from four KPWFL associations including Kapa’a, Lihu’e, Hanapepe and Kekaha.

Nainoa Melchor, Dustin Jerves, Jonathan Canha and Alexis Telles were awarded by the Kapa’a association, joined by Chase Kawakami, Colten Dela Cruz, Nicholas Gandeza, Chaz Corona and Broc Candido from the Lihu’e association.

Tiernie Clagett, Nakili Kauwe and Alyssa Agena received the All-American title from the Hanapepe association, and Ho’olu Akeo, Rylee Bernabe and Milana Schaefer were named the All-American from the Kekaha association.

“The KPWFL would like to thank everyone who contributed prizes and financial donations to this school event,” said Rapozo. “Special thanks to Kaua’i County, the Attorney’s Office, Life’s Choice Kaua’i grant, E Ola Mau and the Kekaha Agriculture Association. “


Dennis fujimoto, editor and photographer, can be reached at 245-0453 or [email protected]

Source link

Comments are closed.