Scholarship Recipients –

• DUBLIN – Funded by the State of Ohio through the Department of Higher Education and operated as a program of the Ohio Academy of Science, Believe in Ohio is a scholarship program for innovation and STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) student entrepreneurship that strives to prepare Ohio’s future workforce for a changing job market and innovation economy. The program emphasizes the importance of applying STEM and innovation to solve problems, and how to create solutions by developing market opportunities through research and technological design. Recently, 124 juniors and seniors from 90 Ohio high schools, including Eleanor Smith of the National Inventors Hall of Fame STEM High School in Akron, were recognized for their contributions and won a $1,000 Believe in Ohio STEM Innovation scholarship. and Entrepreneurship. Applications for the scholarship process were assessed on academic achievement, answers to essay questions, and evidence of validated achievements in STEM innovation and entrepreneurship.
• GREATER AKRON — David Fall, a graduate of Walsh Jesuit High School, and Jackson Shaw, a graduate of Highland High School, have been named National Merit Scholarship recipients. Fall, who plans to major in aerospace engineering, received the National Merit Scholarship from Purdue University. Shaw, whose likely career field is biomedical engineering, won the National Merit University of Central Florida scholarship. Fall and Shaw are among 2,600 recipients of National Merit Scholarships, funded by colleges and universities across the country. These scholarships provide between $500 and $2,000 per year for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution funding the scholarship, according to officials from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
• GREATER AKRON – The Eugene and Arlene True of Cleveland Punch and Die Co. Memorial Scholarship, established at the Akron Community Foundation to award annual scholarships to company employees, their spouses, children and grandchildren, was awarded this year to Charles Baker, of Copley, a mechanical engineering technology major at the University of Akron. This fund honors the memory of Eugene and Arlene True, who held a controlling interest in Cleveland Punch and Die.
• GRANGER — The Cleveland Clinic Medina Hospital, the hospital’s medical staff and the Medina Hospital Foundation are awarding $42,000 in annual scholarships this year. Highland High School Graduate Scholarships and Recipients include:
√ $2,500 Cleveland Clinic Medina Hospital Medical Staff Scholarships from Cleveland Clinic Medina Hospital for students pursuing a career in the medical field: Blaine Coyner and Taylor Csanyi, both studying biomedical engineering at Ohio State University (OSU); and Delaney Lawson, also present at OSU;
√ $1,000 Medina Hospital Foundation Community Scholarships for graduates who plan to pursue nursing or a paramedic program: Csanyi and Ava Latham, who are studying nursing at Kent State University ;
√ $1,000 Bill and Ruth Kelly Scholarships for students planning to pursue nursing or a paramedic program: Makayla Grecenuk, who is studying nursing at OSU, and Elissa Scheel, who is studying nursing occupational therapy at Gannon University; and
√ The $1,000 Jean Myers Scholarship for Medina Hospital Student Volunteers and Dependents of Hospital Caregivers: Coyner.
The hospital, staff and foundation have collectively given more than $740,000 in scholarships to Madinah County students over the more than 75-year history of Madinah Hospital, according to hospital officials.
• AKRON — Holy Trinity Lutheran Church has awarded the $1,000 Ernie Liska Memorial Bursary to Jovana Djuric. She graduated from Akron Early College in May with a GPA of 5 and delivered the valedictory address for her class of 102 students. She also graduated from the University of Akron with an Associate of Arts degree. She was a member of the National Honor Society, where she served as treasurer and chair of the fundraising committee. She also helped teachers at a local primary school. The scholarship was established in memory of Ernest Liska in 2019 to provide financial assistance to high school seniors who plan to pursue a college or university degree or obtain certification in a professional/construction trade. Applicants must be a current high school student in Akron Public Schools and live in Akron.

Please support Leader Publications as we continue to provide the community with local news.

Click on the link below for more information on our 2020 voluntary subscription campaign!

Make a voluntary donation

Comments are closed.