Texas A&M Students Elect New Student Body President, Yell Leaders, and Other Key Student Leaders

The Aggies celebrate the winners of this year’s student elections at Kyle Field Plaza

Caitlin Stansbury/Student Affairs Division

Texas A&M University students announced the student body election results tonight on Kyle Field Plaza before a crowd of approximately 300 people. .

Case Harris, student body president-elect

Student Body President-elect Harris ’23 Case

Caitlin Stansbury/Student Affairs Division

“It’s amazing! I’ve never been more proud to be Aggie. I’m so excited for the year ahead,” Harris said. “From the start, my two goals were to advance Texas A&M and to make sure every Aggie is ready to win, so that’s what we’re going to do.”

Zac Cross, Kipp Knecht and Nathan Drain were voted Yell’s senior leaders and Trevor Yelton and Thomas Greve were chosen as Yell’s junior leaders. All five are members of the Corps of Cadets who ran on the 5 for Yell platform.

“It’s the greatest blessing ever!” Having served before, I know what needs to be done to continue to serve this great university,” Cross said. “I’m happy that Kipp and I are able to do this again because I think we can build on this year, and we’re going to do a lot better. I’m looking forward to 2023.”

This year’s Yell Leader election involved candidates from two organized groups: 5 for Yell and Ags 5 Yell. 5 for Yell is a group of five members of the Texas A&M Corps of Cadets, two of whom were outgoing junior Yell leaders: Cross and Knecht. Its Facebook page describes them as “a group of individuals forged by the Corps, voted on by their peers, vetted by their superiors, and chosen to represent the university.”

According to The Battalion, in Texas A&M history, only 33 unregistered, or students who are not part of the Cadet Corps, have been elected as Cree leaders, and only once has a nonreg served. as a Cree leader. About 2,500 Aggies are part of the Cadet Corps.

According to the Ags 5 Yell Instagram page, these Yell Leader candidates, all male, aim to represent the entire student body and provide a platform for anyone to become a Yell Leader.

Students could vote for five Yell Leader candidates, regardless of which platform they ran on.

Election results were also announced for Texas A&M officers and class presidents, the president of the Residential Housing Association (RHA), senators, and Honors Student Council offices.

A total of 12,630 ballots were cast in this spring’s election. Harris, elected by the SBP, won with 2,558 votes (24.7%). Election results are not official until certified by the Chief Justice of the Student Court.

A Student Election Commission, part of the Student Government Association, adheres to the Aggie Honor Code, assuming anonymous roles to ensure fairness. The commission published information about the candidates and encouraged students to participate in the vote.

For additional results, visit the 2020 Student Body Election Results page.

Comments are closed.