Thirty-seven St. John’s Prep college-athletes take the next step

More than their fair share for these Danvers Eagle seniors

St. John’s Prep of Danvers Athletics is proud to recognize more than three dozen Eagles student-athletes, including two favorites, who have committed to compete at the college of their choice beginning next fall. College athletes representing 10 sports commitment letters signed last week during the NCAA’s ongoing signing periods.

In context, the sheer number of future varsity athletes coming out of the prep campus this year isn’t terribly surprising. After all, Eagle teams have collectively produced nine state titles in the past 12 months – twice in wrestling and once each in lacrosse, golf, cross country, mountain biking, swimming, skiing and ice hockey.

“What a great time of year and what a remarkable accomplishment for all of our student-athletes, their families, teammates and coaches,” said St. John’s Prep Athletic Director Jameson Pelkey. “These signings are a testament to all the time, energy and effort our guys have invested over the years. We congratulate them and wish them the best.”

Signatories to this St. John’s recruiting window, who represent 23 North Shore towns and cities, plus two more in New Hampshire, are listed by sport and position below. Eight of the head coaches of these athletes in the 10 sports are also St. John’s Prep graduates.

A primary provision of the NCAA’s National Letter of Intent Program is that competing collegiate athletic programs must cease recruiting a prospective student-athlete once an NLI is signed with another institution. Athletic scholarship assistance is renewed annually at the discretion of each school’s athletic department.

The signing period for Division I college football ended on April 1, while the basketball signing window closes on May 18. Division II football student-athletes, as well as anyone who plays other Division I and II sports, must sign up by August 1. With the NCAA’s first signing window last December, the prep announced 10 more signers across six sports.


Right-handed pitcher Griffin Callanan (North Reading), University of Hartford; catcher and outfielder Cam Wodarski (Danvers), St. Joseph’s College (Maine); and right-handed outfielder and pitcher Shane Williams (Georgetown), Salve Regina University (RI).


coxswain Cooper Dunagan (Byfield), Colgate University (NY); Starboard Robert Arsenault (Danvers), Tufts University; Starboard Alex Flynn (Wilimington), Tufts University; Port Thomas Dufour (Beverly), Skidmore College (NY); and port/starboard Josh Atkinson (Haverhill), Union College (NY).


Running back James Guy (Lynn), Bentley University; defensive back Matt Mitchell (Medford), Union College (NY); defensive back Ryan Grenier (Salem, NH), Union College (NY); offensive lineman Kyle Webster (North Andover), Union College (NY); quarterback Jack Perry (Newbury), Bates College; defensive tackle Dylan Roberts (Swampscott), Bates College; linebacker Dylan Wodarski (Danvers), University of New England (Maine); offensive lineman Hudson Kortbus (Lexington), University of New England (Maine); linebacker Ethan Barnes-Felix (North Reading), Beloit College (Wisconsin); linebacker Conan Keefe (Andover), Norwich University (Vt.); linebacker and kicker Charlie Stark (Topsfield), Stonehill College; offensive lineman Jake Cuddire (Peabody), University of New Hampshire (favorite walk); and offensive lineman Kurt Plakans (Marblehead), Fordham University (favorite walk).


Brendan O’Holleran (Hamilton South), Middlebury College.

The Crosse

Attackman Mace Collins (Swampscott), Norwich University (Vt.); defenseman Tim Haarmann (Boxford), MIT; midfielder Charlie Wilmot (Topsfield), Wesleyan University (Conn.); and defenseman Luca Winter (Swampscott), Union College (NY).


Charles Maier (Wenham), Williams College; Kique Ruiz (Swampscott), Bowdoin College; and Joseph Cunniff (Marblehead), Fairfield University.


goalkeeper Joey Waterman (North Andover), Middlebury College; and midfielder James Gikas (Boxford), Worcester Polytechnic Institute.


Jake Thomas (Wenham, breaststroke, 200 yard medley), WPI; and Ethan Olivo (Andover, 50, 100 yard freestyle), Hamilton College (NY).


Luke Santos (Exeter, NH, distance events), Colorado College; Tyee Ambrosh (Danvers, sprinter), Babson College; and Jason Bois (Stoneham, hurdler, sprinter, high jumper), Union College (NY).


Adam Schaeublin (Salem, 132-pound wrestler in 2021-22), Trinity College (Conn.).

Chad Konecky is a communications specialist for St. John’s Prep.

Comments are closed.