Washington’s Teves named Pac-12 male college football athlete of the year


SAN FRANCISCO – WASHINGTON Dylan teves was named 2021 Pac-12 men’s football scholar of the year, the league announced on Friday. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was created to honor college student-athletes who stand out both academically and in their sport discipline.

A graduate in Business Administration: Finance with a GPA of 3.69, Teves is the Pac-12’s current leading scorer with 12 goals and 31 points heading into the NCAA Quarterfinal game (16-1-2) from Washington this Saturday. He is the fifth league-leading Husky to receive this honor and the first since 2011 (Brent Richards).

Powered by Teves’ back-to-back hat-tricks in the first two games of this season, the Huskies are one quarter-final victory over Saint Louis, nowhere near making their very first NCAA College Cup appearance. Teves’ six goals so far in the playoffs are tied for second in a single NCAA tournament and a little short of the record of seven set by Thompson Usiyan of Appalachian State in 1978.

A 2021 MAC Hermann Trophy candidate, Kailua midfielder Hawai’i won his second All-Conference Pac-12 first-team honor this fall, in addition to being named Pac-12 Player of the Week (11 / 8) and a trio of national teams of the week (11/9, 11/23, 11/30). He was a semi-finalist for the Hermann Trophy and a member of America’s first all-star team for the 2020 season in which he finished third on the Pac-12 with seven goals and 19 points. He climbed to seventh in Conference history with 72 points and is tied for 10th all-time with 25 goals and 22 assists.

Teves was named First Team Scholar All-American by the United Soccer Coaches for the 2020 season and was named twice to the Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll. He is also on the 2021 CoSIDA All-America Academic Honors ballot after being selected to the All-District 8 First Team on November 11.

To be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be senior (in track and field), on track to graduate, have a GPA of 3.0 or above, participate in at least 50 percent of the competitions scheduled in sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution can nominate one person per sport, and winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the end of each sport’s regular season. The athletic achievements of the candidates are taken into consideration when voting for the award.

One varsity athlete of the year is named in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross-country, women’s cross-country, soccer, men’s golf, women’s golf , women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming and diving, women’s swimming and diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field, women’s track and field, women’s volleyball and wrestling. The award was first created during the 2008-2009 academic year.


Source link

Comments are closed.